CARROLL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE, INC. ANNUAL MEETING MINUTES AUGUST 28, 2021

Board President, Harold Sutton announced the call to order for the virtual annual meeting held at the Cooperative's office. The meeting was put on the Cooperative's website for viewing.

Manager Larry Fenbers led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Kevin Tullis gave the invocation.

Manager Fenbers introduced the Board of Trustees. He announced District #3 is currently vacant due to the recent resignation of Harold Barber.

Kevin Tullis read the Notice of the Meeting.

AJ Atkinson, Manager of Marketing and Member Services, recognized the scholarship and Youth Tour winners. He said a total of \$6,000 in scholarships were given this year. Two students were chosen to attend the Youth Tour in Washington, DC, over the past two years, but it has been canceled each year due to the COVID Pandemic. Those two students can attend the 2022 Youth Tour or accept a \$1000 scholarship.

Larry Fenbers returned to the podium and gave the People for People report. He stated fifty cents is the average monthly contribution our members donate and when you add it all together, it makes a difference! In 2020, a total of \$33,000 in grants were awarded to various organizations and individuals. Since the beginning of 2021, \$16,000 has been granted in charitable donations. A total of \$904,378.71 has been given to those in need since the program began in 2000. On behalf of the People for People board, he thanked the members for participating in the round up program and for their contributions and the positive impact it has made in our communities.

Harold Sutton explained the minutes were printed in the Ohio Cooperative Living magazine and that we have not heard any remarks. He asked for a motion to approve. Said motion was given by Larry Fenbers and seconded by Robert McCort.

President Sutton began his speech by thanking the members for their kind remarks and the staff for their hard work and dedication and announced this year the Coop received their highest ACSI (American Customer Satisfaction Index) score ever! He said we scored 83 compared to AEP that scored 70. He spoke of the many hours over-time our linemen work during storms and how it can go on for days. He stated some of our linemen worked in excess of 67 hours over-time this month due to storms that caused outages and asked the members to please show respect to our linemen for their hard work. He also praised Larry and his management team for the quick action on imposing the COVID protocol and stated they made the best of a bad situation. He then thanked Harold Barber who resigned August 23, 2021 after 14 years of service. He also stated Frank Chiurco has decided not to seek another term and thanked him for his 15 years of dedicated service and presented him with a plague and gift card as a token of appreciation.

Larry Fenbers returned to the podium for the manager's column. He stated the Coop is still being impacted by COVID a year later. He explained the meeting is different but one good thing about the virtual meeting is that

it is shorter. He said COVID cases are down, mask mandates are being lifted and the office lobby has opened back up but unfortunately, locally, there are an increased number of cases. He said one of the primary functions of the annual meeting is the election of trustees and fortunately, several years ago, the members voted on a by-law amendment to add voting online, by telephone and mail. He said that we have seen record numbers of member votes since this change. He explained that the Cooperative returned over \$326,000 in Capital Credits last year and the year ended with a good margin even after waiving late fees and working with members that struggled to pay their bills. He also stated that due to the pandemic and uncertainty the Cooperative applied for a Small Business Association Covid Relief Loan and received \$480,300.00 and said loan was 100% forgiven and became a grant and that helped the Coop avoid any rate increase in 2021. He stated the employees pushed through the pandemic and continued to provide affordable, reliable service. He said that in June we went back to a more normal work environment and that we have fared well in our mission. He stated we have also experienced shortages on materials needed, delays and cost increases. He said as far as reliability, last fall motor operated airbreak switches were installed at the Sugargrove substation to help speed up restoration times due to outages. He said last spring we replaced a transformer in the Merrick Substation and rebuilt the circuits out of Leesville and Merrick Subs and it has helped improve the tie capabilities between Leesville, Atwood and Merrick Substations. We are working on right-of-way in the Leesville, Atwood and Merrick areas. He stated we are finalized the goals from the strategic planning sessions held in 2020, many focusing on employee development and training, reliability and member communication. He said he is proud to announce there were no lost-time accidents and said we have a new shared Safety Consultant, Jim Myers. He announced three employees with 25 years of service: Tom Schultz, Sherry Noble and Traci Buehler. He closed in thanking the staff and board of trustees for their hard work.

AJ Atkinson gave the Nominating Committee Report and explained some of the qualities the nine-member committee looks for are character, education, skills, and experience. Four members from District 8 were interested in that position, but the nominating committee can only nominate three maximum candidates per district. The committee took a vote and chose three candidates and notified the other member with the results.

Larry returned to the podium and introduced the five nominees: District#1 Gary Snode; District #4 Harold Sutton and District #8 Travis Haugh, Vince Carter and Dan Meenan.

Jake returned to the podium and stated the voting was closed Friday, August 20, 2021 at noon. He asked if there was any unfinished or new business. There being none, he asked for a motion to adjourn and Bob McCort gave said motion.

Larry Fenbers returned to the podium and stated Keith Harden from Coop Ballot will announce the winners virtually. Mr. Harden announced the following winners: District #1 Gary Snode; District #4 Harold Sutton and District #8 Vince Carter.

Manager Fenbers and AJ Atkinson closed the meeting by doing the drawings for the additional energy credits and announced that all members that voted will receive a \$5.00 bill credit.

APPROVED BY: _____

Harold Sutton, President